BJP Secures Dominant Victory in Rajya Sabha Elections, SP Faces Setback

ByTV10 Punjab

Feb 28, 2024
WhatsApp Image 2024 02 27 at 9.46.27 PM
Spread the love
8 / 100

National Desk
27 February
Sandeep Dhand

In a pivotal day of voting across three states, Uttar Pradesh, Himachal Pradesh, and Karnataka, the Rajya Sabha elections unfolded with significant developments. The focus was primarily on Uttar Pradesh, where 10 seats were contested.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) emerged triumphant, clinching 8 out of the 10 seats in UP. The Samajwadi Party (SP), however, faced a setback as seven of its MLAs surprisingly voted in favor of the BJP, altering the anticipated outcome. SP managed to secure only 2 seats, with their candidate Jaya Bachchan receiving the highest number of votes among them.

WhatsApp Image 2024 02 27 at 9.46.27 PM

The BJP’s success was attributed to strategic cross-voting, granting them a clear advantage. Even the eighth BJP candidate secured a victory. In the broader picture, the BJP secured a total of 8 seats in Uttar Pradesh, while the SP’s representation was limited to 2 seats.

These election results signify a significant political shift, emphasizing the dynamic nature of alliances and loyalties in the current political landscape. The aftermath is expected to have reverberations in the state’s political dynamics, setting the stage for future developments.