Major Administrative Reshuffle in Punjab Post-Elections

ByTV10 Punjab

Jun 8, 2024
WhatsApp Image 2024 06 07 at 9.26.15 PM 1
Spread the love
6 / 100

7 June

Sandeep Dhand Ludhiana

Following the conclusion of the Lok Sabha elections, the Punjab government has undertaken a significant administrative reshuffle, transferring a total of nine officers, including the police commissioners of Jalandhar and Ludhiana. Among these transfers, eight are Indian Police Service (IPS) officers and one is from the Punjab Police Service (PPS).

In a notable appointment, Gurpreet Singh Bhullar has been designated as the new Director General of Police (DGP). Bhullar has been instructed to report to the office, with specific orders regarding his posting to be issued separately.

WhatsApp Image 2024 06 07 at 9.26.15 PM 1

According to the latest orders, Kuldeep Singh Chahal will take over as the police commissioner of Ludhiana, while Swapan Sharma has been appointed as the police commissioner of Jalandhar. These changes are part of a broader strategy by the Punjab government to enhance administrative efficiency and ensure robust law enforcement across the state.

The full list of officers transferred by the Punjab government includes:

  1. Gurpreet Singh Bhullar – Appointed DGP (posting details to follow)
  2. Kuldeep Singh Chahal – Police Commissioner, Ludhiana
  3. Swapan Sharma – Police Commissioner, Jalandhar

This reshuffle aims to bring in fresh perspectives and strengthen the administrative framework within Punjab’s key cities and departments. Further details on the postings and responsibilities of the newly appointed officers are expected to be released soon.