Citizenship Amendment Act Implemented, Non-Muslim Refugees Eligible for Indian Citizenship

ByTV10 Punjab

Mar 13, 2024
WhatsApp Image 2024 03 11 at 11.35.55 PM
Spread the love
6 / 100

WebDesk New Delhi
12 March
Sandeep Dhand Ludhiana

After four years since its passage by Parliament, the Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA) has been officially implemented across the country. Under this law, non-Muslim refugees from Pakistan, Afghanistan, and Bangladesh will now have the opportunity to obtain Indian citizenship, albeit through an application process.

The Ministry of Home Affairs has introduced a new online portal, to facilitate citizenship applications under CAA-2019. Additionally, a mobile app named ‘CAA-2019’ will also be launched to streamline the process. The CAA extends citizenship rights to Hindu, Sikh, Buddhist, Jain, Parsi, and Christian refugees from the aforementioned countries, who have been residing in India before 2014.

WhatsApp Image 2024 03 11 at 11.35.55 PM

Applicants are only required to provide proof of their arrival in India before December 31, 2014, simplifying the citizenship acquisition process. The implementation follows the notification of the Citizenship Amendment Rules, 2024, by the Ministry of Home Affairs, aligning with the objectives of the CAA to safeguard individuals fleeing religious persecution.

The CAA, which faced opposition in Parliament, was passed in December 2019, triggering nationwide protests. However, the government maintains that the law aims to grant citizenship to minorities facing persecution in Pakistan, Bangladesh, and Afghanistan.